Programming from scratch?

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

fingerfry
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, Gameboy Advance SP

Programming from scratch?

Post by fingerfry »

I was just wondering, when did you experienced programmers get to the point where you could program without the help of tutorials, or books? How long after you started learning did you code a simple game by yourself? In what language did you develop your first significant application?

Just some questions to make people think :)
Bakkon
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Programming Language of Choice: C++

Re: Programming from scratch?

Post by Bakkon »

I just finished my first serious project and I'd say I started learning C++ about 2 years ago.
fingerfry
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Post by fingerfry »

Bakkon wrote:I just finished my first serious project and I'd say I started learning C++ about 2 years ago.
What was the project?
RyanPridgeon
Chaos Rift Maniac
Chaos Rift Maniac
Current Project: "Triangle"
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C/C++

Post by RyanPridgeon »

I'd say it took me about half a year to get comfortable with C++ and SDL to the point where I didn't need books or tutorials.

Just start with smaller games and work upwards. A standard beginner's game would be Pong, so see if you can pull that off well.
Ryan Pridgeon
C, C++, C#, Java, ActionScript 3, HaXe, PHP, VB.Net, Pascal
Music | Blog
Bludklok
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Current Project: EnigmaCore
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, N64, Playstation1, Playstation2

Post by Bludklok »

I first started in C++ which took me about 4 months to learn most of the basics. i'm always trying to learn new library's so I guess you could say I've never stopped using books/tutorials.
Youtube
Website
Current project: Enigma Core
Bakkon