Too many DLLs!

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

superLED
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Current Project: Engine
Favorite Gaming Platforms: N64
Programming Language of Choice: C++, PHP

Too many DLLs!

Post by superLED »

Hi there, folks!

For my graphical projects in MVSC++ I am using SDL. That means, I end up having dozens DLLs. (SDL.dll, SDL_image.dll, SDL_ttf.dll, sdlgfx.dll, SDL_mixer.dll ... and so on)
These DLLs have to be in the same directory as my executable to make the project work. And it simply looks really messy.

So my question is:
Is there a way to move those DLLs in a 'dll' folder, to better organize the filesystem?
As said, I use MVSC++ as my IDE, but I'm not that experienced with most of the settings, so a little spoon feeding may be required. Sorry.
szdarkhack
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie

Re: Too many DLLs!

Post by szdarkhack »

If you think that looks messy, look at the Steam installation folder (or any game for that matter :lol: ). As for your question, i didn't find anything with a quick google search, but i might look more into it later when i have the time.
superLED
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior

Post by superLED »

szdarkhack wrote:If you think that looks messy, look at the Steam installation folder (or any game for that matter :lol: ). As for your question, i didn't find anything with a quick google search, but i might look more into it later when i have the time.
True, but with steam, you launch the game most likely from steam itself, or the automatically created shortcut on your desktop, so it's not often you must dig through the sea of DLLs :p
And thanks for your time, googling for me. I've tried that as well, but found nothing that could help me.

I know there must be a way, since I've seen it a lot - game folders with a separate dll folder.
TheBuzzSaw
Chaos Rift Junior