My Own Lua Graphics Thing

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

sk1v3r
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

My Own Lua Graphics Thing

Post by sk1v3r »

Hey there :)
I've just started (pretty much) integrating lua with c++, and as a test for myself I decided to see if I could create a c++ program that lets lua use graphics and stuff. Because I've never done something like this before I thought it would be a good challenge, and having started it I'm pleased with what's come out so far.
I was just wondering if this was an all right way to go about practising lua scripting, or if it would be better if I just stuck to making a game in c++ and using lua just for scripting that Kinda stuff.
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++

Re: My Own Lua Graphics Thing

Post by Falco Girgis »

I mean, it is a fine idea to get practice... That's what LuaPlayer is...

But if your goal is to create a powerful, extendable engine, having Lua perform core functionality like that is a sign of a piss poor engine. You're also going to suffer performance penalties for doing it that way.

So is your goal to make an Engine in C/++ that is extendable through Lua, or is your goal to create a series of wrapper-type C/++ functions that allow entire games to be made in Lua?
sk1v3r
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Post by sk1v3r »

Well, I wan't really trying to make an engine, this was just meant to be practice at my skills of combining the two. I think I'll carry it out till the performance drops, but just keep it at a practice level.
Also, why is lots of scripting a bad engine, Is it because it pushers too much work on the scripter or because it slows it down?
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team

Post by Falco Girgis »

Yeah.