Help a noob?

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Odifma
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Help a noob?

Post by Odifma »

Hey everyone :) so i LITERALLY just starting learning C++ today. i have this book called "C++ Programming for the Absolute Beginner, Second Edition". It is decent. but still a bit confusing. Anywho, just wondering on some tips to learning c++? i know it takes alot of hours, which i have now that i am unemployed as of this past friday haha... and ive been probabaly around 8 hours learning C++ and so far i made a dos window as me my name, ask me for 2 numbers and then give me the sum of those 2 numbesr. which took me about 40 mins to figure out haha... my brain hurts. how did most of you learn C++? any advice would be awesome :mrgreen:
k1net1k
Chaos Rift Maniac
Chaos Rift Maniac

Re: Help a noob?

Post by k1net1k »

pick some tutorials, either a website or a book, and start following through the tutorials.

most of the time this gives you the basics of what you need to make simple applications by the end of it.
Odifma
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Post by Odifma »

yea the book i have has some little "projects" like the one i mentioned. but il definately keep that inmind when i get futher into the book. i also orderd anohter book a few days ago. its suppost to be really good for beginners. thanks for the info :bow:
N64vSNES
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee

Post by N64vSNES »

You have to bare in mind that the author won't expect you to understand everything in each illustration before moving onto the next.

Here is what a lot of books start off with.

Code: Select all

#include <iostream>

int main(int argc,char *args[]) {

std::cout << "Hello World" << std::endl;

return 0;
}