What to do After Learning C++??? suggestions would be help!!

Anything related in any way to game development as a whole is welcome here. Tell us about your game, grace us with your project, show us your new YouTube video, etc.

Moderator: PC Supremacists

froggy
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

What to do After Learning C++??? suggestions would be help!!

Post by froggy »

hey guys ive been doing c++ for about 2 years now and i am well versed in it. Ive been wonderiound if i should learn Sdl or Allegro to start with, to increase my knowledge. what do u guys think i should do??? also after i learn Allegro or SDL i wanna get into game engine development if you guys can name some great books or something that might help. plz and ty..
N64vSNES
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee

Re: What to do After Learning C++??? suggestions would be help!!

Post by N64vSNES »

Well first of all find out exactly how familiar with C++ you actully are.

If you know

-Arrays
-Pointers, refrences and other data types and managment
-Functions
-At least basic object oriented design
etc

If not then you should spend a while longer with some more C++ books.

If your familiar with above then yes SDL or allegro would be the way to go if you intend to get into game development.

Assuming you are wanting to get into game programming then here is a link to Gryo's getting started videos:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAgpsks29W4

Otherwise if you just plainly want to advance your programming skills then I suggest you look into anything you might have missed, just search through some C++ books and you might find somthing you didn't know.
adikid89
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
Programming Language of Choice: c++

Post by adikid89 »