Allegro help needed.

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

fryz
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie
Current Project: Ping Pong.
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC.
Programming Language of Choice: C++, Allegro.

Allegro help needed.

Post by fryz »

Hi. I am new in Allegro. I know basics of C++. Took a few tutorials of that.

As for allegro, i cannot find any 'advanced' tutorials. Only tutorials for beginners, working on how to detect collision, how draw a picture, insert a sound or an animation.

Is there any websites, which are not so popular on Google, i haven't found, with little advanced tutorials? I am creating my first Allegro game which is Ping Pong. I got the idea, as someone has given an advice to someone else at other forums, to create ping pong as a first game. I currently would like to create a specific speed for a ball and the paddles. Also i am failing a detecting the collision on the paddles. The ball is not reacting to the paddles and just keep bouncing on the screen's walls. I have used this tutorial to make the ball moving by the way:

Code: Select all

#include 
#include 

int x = 100;
int y = 100;

int tempX = 100;
int tempY = 100;

int dir = 1; //This will keep track of the circles direction
            //1= up and left, 2 = down and left, 3 = up and right, 4 = down and right

BITMAP *buffer; //This will be our temporary bitmap for double buffering

void moveCircle(){

tempX = x;
    tempY = y;

if (dir == 1 && x != 20 && y != 20){

--x;
        --y;

} else if (dir == 2 && x != 20 && y != 460){

--x;
        ++y;

} else if (dir == 3 && x != 620 && y != 20){

++x;
        --y;

} else if (dir == 4 && x != 620 && y != 460){

++x;
        ++y;

} else { 

dir = rand() % 4 + 1;

}    

acquire_screen();
    circlefill ( buffer, tempX, tempY, 20, makecol( 0, 0, 0));
    circlefill ( buffer, x, y, 20, makecol( 128, 255, 0));