Page 1 of 1

PVR questions.

Posted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:03 pm
by JS Lemming
Welp, since I will soon own a DC and plan to start deving it. I have a few questions on this PVR thing. err... is it the deal where when you draw something on it you can specify a zoom? Like realtime zoom effects? Its a 3D thingy isn't it. And if so, does it make the pixels all chunky? Or is it smooth.

Posted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:35 pm
by Falco Girgis
Man, I'm sorry if this is completely off-topic, but I still want to slap you for telling me several months ago when I first started devving on the DC that you could draw pixels like in Blitz. *slaps*

Uh... JSL, tell me why pixels would look chunky with t3h PVR?

Zoom? I don't know. Lets not forget that man hasn't yet unleased all of the powers of t3h PVR either.

Also, devving for the DC is going to be a hell for you because you don't have broadband and you can't get online often for lessons.

Posted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 5:14 pm
by Tvspelsfreak
GV and I draw sprites by binding a texture to a polygon (quad).

When you draw the quad you'll get to specify where you want the 4 corners of it. By changing those you can do some nice effects like scaling and rotation.

You can also choose to apply a texture filter to the quad to smooth out the pixels. I believe that's what you were asking for.

Posted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 6:35 pm
by Falco Girgis
Once you use the PVR you won't ever want to use anything else...

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 5:26 pm
by JS Lemming
Thanks Tvspelsfreak, your the only one who posted usefull information. :lol: :lol:

Ok, YES, I was hoping you were going to say something about drawing on polygons... YES, that is what I wanted to hear.
Man, I'm sorry if this is completely off-topic, but I still want to slap you for telling me several months ago when I first started devving on the DC that you could draw pixels like in Blitz. *slaps*
I still say that's very do-able. Set up a bank o'memory, make some functions to manipulate that memory, such as DrawPixel(), then bind that texture to the 640x480 polygon.... and wala.

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 5:38 pm
by Falco Girgis
JS Lemming wrote: I still say that's very do-able. Set up a bank o'memory, make some functions to manipulate that memory, such as DrawPixel(), then bind that texture to the 640x480 polygon.... and wala.
*smacks*

Such a fool...

WTF? Why don't you just use little polygons like I said originally?

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 5:50 pm
by JS Lemming
GyroVorbis wrote:
JS Lemming wrote: I still say that's very do-able. Set up a bank o'memory, make some functions to manipulate that memory, such as DrawPixel(), then bind that texture to the 640x480 polygon.... and wala.
*smacks*

Such a fool...

WTF? Why don't you just use little polygons like I said originally?

Because that would probably be so freaking slow...

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 5:55 pm
by Falco Girgis
JS Lemming wrote:
GyroVorbis wrote:
JS Lemming wrote: I still say that's very do-able. Set up a bank o'memory, make some functions to manipulate that memory, such as DrawPixel(), then bind that texture to the 640x480 polygon.... and wala.
*smacks*

Such a fool...

WTF? Why don't you just use little polygons like I said originally?

Because that would probably be so freaking slow...
JSL, okay so you're proposing that "somehow setting up a bank of memory" and then writing functions to manipulate it for some reason (WTF?), then bind the text-- what in the hell? You know what, that makes absolutely no sense. First off, a pixel isn't a texture at all. How the hell do you just bind a polygon to another like that? You mean just simply draw it ontop?

All of that crap instead of just simply drawing an untextured quad.

And you think that all that stuff you proposed is going to be faster than simply drawing a quad on 3D hardware? Dude, you're crazy.

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:05 pm
by Tvspelsfreak
JSL: You can allocate a texture to use as a screen buffer and manually manipulate each and every pixel of it. Although it's NOT a good idea. It's REALLY slow.
But why would you want to do it that way?
I can't see any reason to do that instead of just normal accelerated drawing.

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:21 pm
by JS Lemming
I had no intention of doing it that way. I was just trying to figure out a way so that GyroVorbis won't have a reason for "slapping" me. :mrgreen:

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:27 pm
by Tvspelsfreak
:lol: :mrgreen: :lol: