New Gaming PC

Random irrelevance that just didn't fit into other forums. Talk about anything.

Moderator: Talkative People

TheFinalFanatic
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C#

New Gaming PC

Post by TheFinalFanatic »

Recently I have decided that it is time for me to buy a new gaming desktop, due to outdated hardware in my current machine. I have attempted to upgrade the GPU, but for some reason it seems to be rejected in general by the machine, most likely an unsolvable problem as I have tried everything that I can possibely do and everything nVidia customer service could suggest. So, I've built a spec. on a website and wanted some feedback as to what you think about it, since I have very little experience in buying an entirely new machine. Here are the specs:

Processor: AMD ATHLON II X4 620 SOCKET AM3 (2.6GHz/2MB CACHE) (Quad Core)
Memory: 4GB Dual-DDR3 1600MHz
Motherboard: ASUS® M4A785TD-V EVO: DUAL DDR3, S-ATA II, 2 x PCIe x16, 1 x PCIe x1, 3 x PCI
Hard Drive: 1TB, 16MB Cache (7,200rpm)
GPU: 1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GT240 PCI EXPRESS

Along with some extra cooling and a 600W PSU. Comes to £651, not sure what that is in USD. So, any suggestions to change this in any way?
JaxDragon
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Current Project: Kanoba Engine
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C++

Re: New Gaming PC

Post by JaxDragon »

I certainly hope you plan on using a monitor.
aamesxdavid
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer

Post by aamesxdavid »

TheFinalFanatic wrote:Processor: AMD ATHLON II X4 620 SOCKET AM3 (2.6GHz/2MB CACHE) (Quad Core)
Is there a reason that you want 32-bit Windows 7? The version I got came with a 32 and 64-bit disc, so the price certainly isn't different. Not to mention, you'll only get 3-gigs of RAM out of a 32-bit OS - you'd be wasting money. Other than that, everything looks good to me. Also, it doesn't specify, so I'd make sure the HDD is SATA.