newb... I guess.

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

villeballa89
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

newb... I guess.

Post by villeballa89 »

Okay, like I said in the other thread... I'm new to C ( as in about a week or two new) and was wondering what would be a couple of good practice projects to work one.... anyone?
cypher1554R
Chaos Rift Demigod
Chaos Rift Demigod

Post by cypher1554R »

Get a book, and go by it.. You can't miss..
villeballa89
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Post by villeballa89 »

I think that'd works if I wasn't such a cheap SOB. but..... anyone got a couple ideas that would be challenging but not impossible? something that's get me to learn the C libraries..... anything?
JS Lemming
Game Developer
Game Developer

Post by JS Lemming »

Make hangman. You'll learn all sorts of stuff.
Small girl at the harbor wrote:Look Brandon, that crab's got ham!
Arce
Jealous Self-Righteous Prick

Post by Arce »

Here's some my teacher assigns the class:

* Fibonacci sequence using recursion
* Factorial using recursion
* base 10 to binary converter
* base 10 to hexadecimal converter
* Fibonacci sequence using loops
* Tic-tac-toe
* Hangman
* Fish simulator.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Make a 9x9 array to represent open water. Making an object oriented app, create fish with random locations within the array, and a random direction (left or right). Also give them a random lifespan between 1&20. Each 'turn' have it move all fish one space in their facing direction and add one to their age (when age >= lifespan, kill the fish). If it reaches side of array, make it take a turn to turn around. Make it robust--no fish on same square, if fish collide make them turn in opposite directions, etc.