Programming Professor shinanigains

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

corey__cakes
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Current Project: Canadian Simulator 2017
Favorite Gaming Platforms: GBA, DC, iOS, SNES, WS, 360, N64
Programming Language of Choice: C++, Lua

Programming Professor shinanigains

Post by corey__cakes »

Hello,

I couldn't think of a better topic to post this question in other than programming discussion because it has to do with programming. To be more specific, learning programming from a tenured college professor who may or may not know how to teach or what they're doing.

I am a sophomore undergraduate studying Computer Science. I already have a background in programming with C++ and I've been interested in programming and studying it since I was about 12. In other words, I'm good enough off to have my own opinions on how something should be coded.

But moving along, today, my professor gave a lecture about structs and a classes in C++. Her description of a class was correct to my understanding. When she talked about structs, she actually talked C-style structs (no member functions, no default constructor, all that jazz) and this class is about C++, may I remind you. And I feel as though structs in C and C++ are different enough that it is incorrect to say you can't have member functions declared inside a struct is incorrect in the context of a college course about C++.

To my understanding (and please tell me if I'm an idiot), the biggest most important difference between a struct and a class is that a struct is public by default and a class is private by default. Any other differences mostly have to do with C compatibility with C++. So to me, when I walked out of that class, I felt like she was wrong to teach it like that.