Server Side Practice

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Benjamin100
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer

Server Side Practice

Post by Benjamin100 »

So, I was here a while ago. I had been programming in C++ and even learning some OpenGL, but I'm not good with math so I stopped that.

Now I'm trying to learn some more Web Development, and I want to learn PHP.
The issue is that I don't have a server to do server side scripting with. Apparently I can set one up, but if I do couldn't somebody get access to it and start using my computer as a server? Won't I have to use some sort of security to make sure nobody else uses it?
Rebornxeno
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie

Re: Server Side Practice

Post by Rebornxeno »

That's a really interesting question that I hope someone answers. Here is my answer: Pretend you have a server! You can write up a server-simulator that acts like a server, but really isn't, and do your pcp on that.
BugInTheSYS
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Current Project: Vintage Roads
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C++, Delphi

Post by BugInTheSYS »

You don't need to write a server 'simulator,' things like that are already out there. Just take a look at XAMPP.
And keep in mind that there are more possibilities to write server-side programs than just PHP. Professional websites with a lot of traffic probably use a kind of server-side application that has been compiled previously, instead of interpreting PHP on each request.
Edit: if you set up you PC as a server with xampp, any router will prevent people from outside your network from accessing it, in default configuration.
Someday, everything will go to /dev/null. - Bug's prophecy 13:37
Rebornxeno
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie

Post by Rebornxeno »