Cobain Programming

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

cobain
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Post by cobain »

hi im a new member and a newbie to programming but i wanna learn...any advise on books and...the big question i have is what do you use programming for!? sounds stupid...but im a newbie

Thx
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++

Post by Falco Girgis »

Programming is for any electronic. (best way I can describe it)

Imagine a video game. How does it work? How does it know that when your life gets 0 or below to make you explode in that savage bloodspray? How does it know to render those beautiful graphics?

Easy -- you tell it to. You do that by programming. Programming is basically giving a set of instructions to hardware and making it... do stuff.

Everything from the bios on your computer to your Windows XP and video games. They've been programmed.

First off, programming cool things is NOT easy. You have to realize how hard it is just to simply draw something to a computer screen. If you're really interested, you eventually need to learn C or C++.

I say eventually because I don't think you could jump right into it. I first started off with HTML. I moved up to a little Javascript and eventually started doing CGI on websites. That kind of gradual change prepared me for tackling C++ (Perl especially). I think programming in things like C/++ would've been insane had I not had that previous web design background....
JS Lemming
Game Developer
Game Developer

Post by JS Lemming »