Programming Terms

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

XianForce
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee

Programming Terms

Post by XianForce »

Well I thought it might be useful to some to make a thread that has a list of programming terms and their definitions. So I'll start with a few, and you guys can add more, (unless an admin thinks this fails, which is very possible...) Also I am new to programming, if I make a mistake, point it out please, and I'll modify my post.

Please guys, if you post terms, please post the definitions for them also, Thanks!

Source Code: The "human-readable" format of your program. This is all the stuff you code that will later be compiled and linked.
Object File: This is the "computer readable" form, in binary code(i.e. all 1s and 0s)
Compile: The act of taking your source code to produce an object file.
Linking: After compiling, you can link the object files with libraries to create your executable file.
Compile Time Errors: Errors that occur when your are compiling.
Link Time Errors: Errors that occur when you are linking.
Run-Time Errors: Errors that occur when you are running the program, also referred to as "bugs".
Integrated Development Environment(IDE): Compiles and Links your program in one step. Some even have their own source code editor, so you never have to leave the environment through the entire development process.
Pre-processor:Goes through your source code and looks for the '#' symbol. This tells the Pre-processor that it needs to do something, and with the highly known '#include' it tells the pre-processor that the following is a file that needs to be inserted there.