So what are you guys doing these days?

Random irrelevance that just didn't fit into other forums. Talk about anything.

Moderator: Talkative People

Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++

So what are you guys doing these days?

Post by Falco Girgis »

Work? Student? Lazy bum?

I graduated about 2 years back, and have been working in telecommunications... I basically write embedded software for "fiber optic modems" (to give a simplified analogy) and still develop ES in my spare time. You guys?
Nokurn
Chaos Rift Regular
Chaos Rift Regular
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, SNES, Dreamcast, PS2, N64
Programming Language of Choice: Proper C++

Re: So what are you guys doing these days?

Post by Nokurn »

Filling out my general ed to transfer to university (likely MIT or Stanford), going to grab a few associate's degrees for the hell of it on my way out. Working on my computer science/physics research project, which I'll be presenting to the board of trustees of my school next month. Hoping to coauthor a paper about it with the physics professor I'm collaborating with on the project.

It's a motion and gravity simulator that is used much like Premiere Pro or other video editing suites. It started out as an extremely simple simulator for looking at angular momentum in a physics lab. Then he realized that I could do much better, so it was extended to multiple bodies. Then gravity followed. I will probably post some screenshots of the demo I make for the board presentation if people are interested. Maybe start writing about it on my currently-empty blog.

It's written in C++ with Qt and uses Eigen for linear algebra.

Edit: And OpenGL for rendering the space.
K-Bal
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer

Post by K-Bal »