Tortuga: A Decent Into Hell

Anything related in any way to game development as a whole is welcome here. Tell us about your game, grace us with your project, show us your new YouTube video, etc.

Moderator: PC Supremacists

Ratstail91
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Tortuga: A Decent Into Hell

Post by Ratstail91 »

The title is just Tortuga; the subtitle is minor embellishment.

So I've been working on one game for 18 months (first commit is listed as 6th June 2013); you can find it here. I've stalled again, for reasons that will soon become clear.

This game started out as a client-server multiplayer turn based procedurally generated role playing game built with a custom engine that was highly customizable and moddable. Do you see the problem yet?

At first it was just a vague idea, and I mostly just played around with it. However, at some point in development I began to take things more seriously as I developed the engine and my skills to a sharp, if narrow, point. I can't really place most of the decisions chronologically, but it's all there in the log. Here's a list of my achievements over the course of development (in no particular order):
  • Restarted from scratch (to make it "better"; after three months the result was identical)
  • UDP networking + custom protocols
  • Multithreading (ditched it early)
  • Custom map system that supports infinite 2D maps (way over engineered)
  • Developed embedded lua scripting engine (currently only accesses the map)
  • Implemented SQL database (via SQLite3)
  • Shelved procedural generation in favour of gameplay
  • Multiple characters persist in the world
  • Stripped the whole project down and rebuilt it multiple times
  • Stalled, procrastinated, developed depression and suicidal thoughts
Just think: everything Elysian Shadows did right, I did wrong. I also did a lot of what ES did wrong too.