Where to start ... (C++) ?

Anything related in any way to game development as a whole is welcome here. Tell us about your game, grace us with your project, show us your new YouTube video, etc.

Moderator: PC Supremacists

L3V147H4N
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Where to start ... (C++) ?

Post by L3V147H4N »

Hi ppl,,, im new here, just activated my account, im really interested in game dev,,, A LOT.. and im looking for some guidance

like 6 month ago i started learning Blender (check it out: www.blender.org) i still need a lot of practice, but its really intuitive and easy to learn, (plus is free and Open) :D

I also a little Java, (more for desktop programming than game dev) and a bit of Python for scripting into Blender.

anyways, i just started with C++, coz u know, industry standard .... plus I really like it :D. and i have a few books on C++, bunch of tutorials (www.thenewboston.com), and whole lots of other books for reference.

My actual question is: what do you recommend???? ... have you found some few books oriented to game dev that you can point me, tutorials, anything.

I know C++ is more complicated than Java, Python, or else,,, but i have a solid understanding of Algorithms, OOP and Pseudo-Code.

Right now im trying UDK, nice, powerful engine, and im trying to work around importing my projects from Blender to UDK,,, ( i still refuse to learn 3DMax, :P awful learning curve, heavy, expensive, bla bla)

and im planning to dive in this Summer ( im from Argentina, its summer :D ) completely in C++ and Blender, maybe OpenGl and try to make some simple projects. Pong or Chess maybe.

So if you have advice,,, any advice that would help me face the right direction, ill thank you...

Anyways,, see ya ...
ibly31
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Current Project: Like... seven different ones
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Xbox 360, Gamecube
Programming Language of Choice: C++, ObjC

Re: Where to start ... (C++) ?

Post by ibly31 »